Parliament approves Kojo, Hawa, Afriyie Akoto other nominees

Parliament approves Kojo, Hawa, Afriyie Akoto other nominees

The three Miniserial-nominees who were rejected by the Minority side on the Appointments Committee have been approved by Parliament through secret balloting.

Information Minister-designate Kojo Oppong Nkrumah sailed through with 115 Yes votes as against 110 No votes. Fisheries and Aqua Culture Minister-designate Hawa Koomson secured 161 Yes votes with 104 No votes. Agric Minister-designate Dr Afriyie Akoto had 143 Yes votes and 121 No votes.

All other vetted nominees were also approveed.

Before the votes, the Minority Members withdrew their consent for the approval of the three security sector ministers-designate following an uproar in the NDC.

Kan Dapaah, for National Security, Dominic Nitiwul for Defence, and Ambrose Dery for Interior had already been approved by the NDC MPs on the committee but the party has raised concerns over the move citing the nominees’ alleged role in the Ayawaso by-election violence and the killings that took place in 2020 polls.

At a caucus meeting Wednesday which lasted for over 2 hours, the caucus resolved to withdraw their consent for the consensus approval of the trio.


Media mogul||Promoter||Influencer||Pro Dj ||mail: ||Twitter @deejaymello_